Bone Cancer Channel
Related Channels

Ewing's Sarcoma Stages

In cases of Ewing's sarcoma, stages are not used to describe the extent of the cancer; currently, there is no staging system for the different types of Ewing's sarcoma. Rather than using stages to describe progression of the disease, most cases of Ewing's sarcoma are classified as being localized, metastatic, or recurrent.

Ewing's Sarcoma Stages: An Overview

Once a doctor makes a Ewing's sarcoma diagnosis, he or she will usually order more tests to find out if cancer cells have spread to other parts of the body. This is called staging.
Currently, there is no staging system for the different types of Ewing's sarcoma. Instead, most patients are grouped depending on:
  • Whether Ewing's sarcoma is found in only one part of the body (localized disease)
  • Whether the Ewing's sarcoma has spread from one part of the body to another (metastatic disease)
  • Whether the Ewing's sarcoma has returned (recurrent).

Classifications Used Instead of Ewing's Sarcoma Stages

Your doctor will need to determine where the cancer is located and how far the disease has spread in order to plan the best Ewing's sarcoma treatment. The following groups are used to categorize Ewing's sarcoma:
  • Localized Ewing's sarcoma
  • Metastatic Ewing's sarcoma
  • Recurrent Ewing's sarcoma.
7 Natural Ways to Reduce Your Cancer Pain

Ewing's Sarcoma Cancer

Referring Pages:
Terms of Use
Advertise with Us
Contact Us
About eMedTV
Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2006-2020 Clinaero, Inc.
eMedTV serves only as an informational resource. This site does not dispense medical advice or advice of any kind. Site users seeking medical advice about their specific situation should consult with their own physician. Click Terms of Use for more information.